Tags

, ,

Well, Adam has boarded his plane for L.A. (work trip) and I am at home hanging out with Riley until Thursday night when I get to join him for the weekend.  Most of you know that Adam does about 90-95% of the cooking in the Katulak household, which I appreciate without a doubt.  So, before he left for the airport he asked me if I just wasn’t going to eat for the entire week.  That is when I decided that I can completely do this on my own, it will just take a little bit of advanced planning.

Since I value my sleep and don’t like waking up any earlier than I have to, but would still like to eat breakfast most mornings, I decided to make the “egg muffin” recipe from the Primal Blueprint cookbook to last me a couple of days without a lot of effort.  It’s pretty much just eggs, sausage, and red pepper, so pretty easy to make, and I’ll just have to reheat them in the morning for an easy, quick breakfast.  I, of course, had to make some modifications to spice things up a bit…have to keep food interesting, right??  I added some chopped, fresh parsley, a few cracks of pepper, a couple shakes of salt, a dash of garlic powder, and a couple generous shakes of crushed red pepper.  Yes, that’s right, since Adam’s out of town this week I made sure to have at it with the spice! 🙂  Here are the results!

Cooled Egg MuffinsFresh out of the oven...

As you can see, I filled the muffin cups a little too full as one of them completely overflowed! 🙂  That added for a few laughs when Adam checked on them halfway through the cook time.  I’m still learning…

Luckily, they shrank back down after they cooled.  I’m pretty pumped to have them tomorrow morning.

While I was making the egg muffins, Adam made us a very delicious lunch.  Since he was going to be traveling, we thought making a bigger lunch so that he didn’t have to eat in the airports if he didn’t want to would be best.  We made Jalapeno Burgers with bacon on a bed of lettuce with tomatoes, homemade primal ketchup and mustard.  YUM!!

We took 1 pound of ground beef (grass fed is preferred – this is from the quarter of a cow we ordered from www.honoredprairie.com last May – yes, I named her Ethel) and mixed in the following ingredients:

– Worchestershire Sauce

-3 cloves of garlic

– a handful of diced jalapenos

– fresh, chopped parsley

– a couple shakes of ground cumin

– an egg to hold everything together

The Jalapeno Bacon Burger

I didn’t put the ketchup and mustard on before the picture (because I didn’t think it would make it look very good).  Obviously they would look better if they were grilled instead of cooked inside…but our grill is another story right now! 🙂  It needs to be repaired…and quickly since spring is approaching.

Just wanted to pass along a couple of fantastic recipes.  Hopefully the pre-making breakfast can help those that don’t have time, or don’t want to make time, in the morning to make something instead of grabbing a pop tart.  Although I do remember the s’more pop tarts from my junior high days, and they do taste delicious…need I say s’more?? 🙂

Let me know what you think about the recipes!

