Tags

, ,

Well, it’s time for the recipes that I’ve made everyone wait way longer than I promised! 🙂  These are two great primal dip recipes that when using veggies as a vehicle to deliver them to your mouth, can be enjoyed guilt-free! 🙂  Can you ask for anything better?!

Jalapeno Popper Dip (Meaghan, Matthew, Adam, and I destroyed this on Friday night…it was fantastic!)

I got this recipe from a friend at work, but modified it a bit to make it primal…

2-8oz. packages of cream cheese, softened

1 cup mayonnaise (I made my own – which I obtained the recipe for in the Primal Blueprint Cookbook – NO ONE WANTS to eat the SOYBEAN OIL in all of the mayonnaise you can buy at the stores…it’s sad really)

1-4oz. can of diced green chilies

1-4oz. can of diced jalapenos, drained

1/2 cup shredded Mexican style cheese

1/2 cup shredded Mozzarella cheese

Parmesan cheese (enough to coat the top, see directions below)

Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees.  Mix together in a bowl the softened cream cheese, mayo, green chilies, jalapenos, and shredded cheese (all but the parm).  I use an immersion blender (the whisk attachment) to mix the ingredients thoroughly, but a hand mixer would work just as well.  Using a rubber spatula (my tool of preference), spread the mixture into a 9×9 glass baking dish.  Top the mixture with parmesan cheese – as much as you want.  I always top my dip with one sliced jalapeno – it’s all about delivery!!  Then bake the dip for 25-30 minutes or until the dip starts to bubble and the parmesan cheese on top turns slightly golden.  Here is the pre-baked product:

We ate the dip with sliced cucumbers, carrot chips (just sliced carrots), and sliced red peppers!  It was delicious! 🙂

Next, brace yourselves, I made Pavia’s amazing salsa recipe!  I hope you don’t mind me sharing, Mike, but this is too good to keep to ourselves! 🙂  All – I cannot take credit for this one…completely plagarizing (except for the jalapeno)!!

1-16 oz. can of whole, peeled tomatoes with the juice

1/2 small onion, chopped

1 clove garlic

1 canned chipotle pepper in adobo sauce

Juice of 1 lime (limes were the theme of this past weekend…I’ll explain in the next post!) 🙂

1/4 cup of fresh, chopped cilantro

1 Jalapeno de-seeded and chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a food processor, and pulse for your desired consistency…less if you like it chunky, more if you like it smooth (obviously – but just in case you’re a novice).

We topped our burgers with the salsa, and of course ate it with some chips as a late night snack! 🙂

