Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

As I have stated from the beginning of this blog, I have been living “primally” for about 1 year.  The first 6 months was testing the waters and experimenting, which led to the discovery that I felt a lot better, had a much higher energy level, was sleeping better, and an awesome side effect was that I lost weight and got down to a weight I hadn’t been at since high school! 🙂  That is when I decided to become primal full-time.

One thing about me is I LOVE food.  I always have, and there is no way I would EVER give it up, completely I mean (obviously).  Have you ever met someone (or maybe it’s you) that HAS to eat 3 “square” meals a day, and sometimes 2-3 snacks, and if they miss one you would think the end of the world is coming??  I definitely have…and it’s kind of comical…they aren’t necessarily hungry when they are eating, but they “have to eat three meals a day to be ‘healthy'” because that is what conventional wisdom says.

This is where Intermittent Fasting (IF) comes in.  I bet a lot of you do it without even realizing it, or thinking about it. 🙂  I have always been someone that wasn’t a huge breakfast person.  Some days I would be hungry and want it, but most I could easily go without it, but I always felt guilty for “skipping a meal.”  That’s why when Adam introduced me to Mark’s Daily Apple (and I read the Primal Blueprint book) I was extremely excited to read more about IF!  There are a great deal of health benefits to fasting (no caloric intake, but water and straight coffee/tea can be consumed) – check them out here:  http://www.marksdailyapple.com/health-benefits-of-intermittent-fasting/

The important thing to remember is if you’re going to take on IF you shouldn’t gorge yourself, or binge, when the next meal comes around.  You should eat the proportion that you would normally consume.  I really consider IF to be more like listening to your body and just eating when  you’re hungry.  If you’re only hungry for dinner that day, then only eat dinner.  If you’re hungry for three primal meals because you’ve kicked up your workout intensity, then you should eat those three meals.  Some people are more intense with their IF regimen and go 24 hours a day without eating 1 – 2 times of week.  I haven’t gotten to that point yet, but it was fun to fast on Ash Wednesday this year, and not eat until dinner.  It really wasn’t hard, and I found that I didn’t miss my three meals a day like most claim they will! 🙂

Here’s the “Fast” and Dirty on IF:

http://www.theiflife.com/

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/04/04/regular-fasting-may-boost-heart-health/?partner=rss&emc=rss

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-intermittent-fasting/

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-intermittent-fasting/

My workout today – Mark’s Daily Apple’s WOW (Workout of the Week)

This is going to happen tonight because I didn’t want to do this in the dark this morning…I’m also going to try this one barefoot (since I can’t find Vibram shoes in my size anywhere in Indy!) 😦

Warm-up:  30 second Grok squat http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-squat-properly/ and 3 light sprints (at 70% of your full intensity)

Mark out a “course” that is 20 meters by 15 meters (approximately 66 ft x 50 ft) – or you can use half of a tennis court, basketball court, etc.  Grok crawl http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-grok-crawl/ the length of your course, explode upward and pivot into a sprint diagonally to the other side of the course.  Then Grok crawl to the other length of the course and sprint diagonally back to your starting position (that’s one round).  Do as many rounds as you can in 15-minutes.  I’ll report back on how intense this was tonight! 🙂 

Good luck all!

