I did it! 🙂  I was able to find a shoe store in Carmel that carries the Vibram FiveFinger shoes (specifically the Kimodo Sports for women)!!  The only downside is that the Carmel store didn’t have my freakishly small size in stock (5.5 in normal shoes).  But I was lucky enough for them to have it at their downtown Indianapolis store, and I only have to wait 2 days for them to arrive so I can try them on and HOPEFULLY have them fit.  However, since they will most likely be considered a birthday present…I’ll have to wait another 2 1/2 weeks until I can sport them. 🙂  Needless to say, I’m pretty excited!!

Onto the workout…I chose to perform the “workout cards” that came in my Women’s Health magazine this month.  See, I DO know how to do “girl specific” workouts…whatever that means!  It was nice because the workout came with tear out cards that I could haul around, instead of the WHOLE magazine (I make it sound like that would be the end of the world, but it’s just nice because I could easily put these cards in my pocket or something).  Anyway…this is a tabata style workout (timed for reps with a short break and continues throughout all of the exercises), so I used our “timer” but remember if you don’t want to purchase one, and your an iPhone user, you can download the FREE app “Gym  Boss.”

This workout consisted of performing 8 moves for as many reps as you can for 60 second, then I gave myself 10 seconds to position/ready myself for the next move – so a total of 8 minutes of workout moves consists of one circuit.  I repeated for a total of three circuits.  NO WEIGHTS REQUIRED … it was pretty tough with just body weight!  Here are the moves (remember, each for 60 seconds):

Lunges

Jump Squats

Push ups

What I would like to call a 1/2 Burpee.  Start standing with your feet shoulder width apart, go into a squat position, puts your hands on the floor, kick your feet back (for a full burpee you would do a push up, but we don’t here), hold your core tight, then kick your feet back in and stand up (for a full burpee you would then do a jump squat).

Plie Squats- Feet slightly more than shoulder width apart and have your toes pointing 45 degrees to the side (hands on your hips) and lower your body further than parallel to the ground and back up in a smooth motion.

Jumping Jacks (I thought that was a funny addition, but it keeps you going)

T-stabilizers (basically a t-pushup without the pushup)

Seated Rotations, you sit on the ground with your knees bent and feet about 4 inches off the ground.  Extend your arms in front of you and touch your palms together…twist your upper body (keep your back straight and legs facing forward) until your arms have moved about 45 – 90 degrees to the side, pause, move back to center and then to the other side.

I couldn’t find this workout on the Women’s Health Website, but feel free to contact me if you have questions, and I’ll be happy to answer.  I was definitely sweating and felt this one! 🙂  If you care to search for more workouts, go to www.womenshealthmag.com

Enjoy! 🙂

