Tags

, , , ,

It’s official!! 🙂  I own my own pair of Vibram FiveFinger shoes – specifically the Kimodo Sports!! 🙂  While I have only worn them in the store (I did some jump squats and ran some laps – the salesman was COMPLETELY making fun of me – but hey, I wanted to be sure I would like them!!) I can already tell I’m going to be wearing them every second that I’m not in heals for work.  I also thought it was a little odd that the shoe salesmen (selling Vibrams) was wearing Men’s Shape-Ups.  Ha…

Now, on to some recipes!  Adam and I made this amazing meal yesterday that was perfect for a summer cookout (only it was super cold and rainy in Indy)…bacon cheese burgers topped with guacamole along with sweet potato fries, and green beans.  Here were our methods:

1-lb. ground beef

1 clove garlic

1/2 diced jalapeno

1 tsp of fresh, chopped oregano

1 tsp of cumin

1 egg

Salt and Pepper to taste

A couple shakes of Worcestershire Sauce

Mix all of this deliciousness in a bowl with your hands and form patties (we formed six smaller ones because they are easier to flip and don’t fall apart).  We also used Colby Jack cheese and topped each burger with a half slice of Pete’s bacon.  We also topped our burgers with homemade guacamole…which is the next recipe!

1 organic avocado

1/4 of a small onion, finely chopped

1 clove garlic

1 small tomato, diced

1/8 cup of cilantro, chopped

Salt and Pepper to taste

Juice of 1/2 lime

Mix it all together!!  I will say that if you put your lime in the microwave for about 10 seconds a lot more juice comes out!  A nice trick that Adam taught me. 🙂

Our Greenbeans:

1/2 bag of Whole Foods Organic Green Beans

1 tbsp Coconut Oil

1 clove garlic, minced

2 shakes of Crushed Red Pepper

Salt and Pepper to taste

Melt the coconut oil in a pan and cut the tips off the green beans while the oil melts.  Sautee the green beans for about 5 minutes at a low to medium heat.  Add the spices and sautee for 5-10 more minutes to your desired crunchy/softness.

Now the BEST part:  the sweet potato fries!!

We had ONE huge sweet potato

1 tbsp of coconut oil

1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

Salt and Pepper to taste

Slice the sweet potato into the desired thickness of fries and place in a large bowl with the melted coconut oil.  Add all of the spices and stir until well coated.  Place on a baking sheet and cook at 350 for approximately 40-45 minutes.  Stir the fries halfway through the cooktime.  During the last five minutes, turn up the heat to 400 if you like your fries a little crispy.

That’s one fantastic dinner…

Coming tomorrow…awesome breakfast recipe, tomorrow’s workout, and our adventure with dying our Easter Eggs!!! 🙂

