Tags

, , , ,

The Workout:

What’s more primal than sprinting in the rain?  It’s not like Grok (see www.MarksDailyApple.com) could completely hide from the rain in all instances.  Granted he could go under a tree or hide in a cave…but at some point I’m sure he got caught in the rain. 

I woke up this morning to look out the window and see wet streets, but it didn’t LOOK like it was raining (maybe that’s because I didn’t have my contacts in yet) so I got dressed to workout and went downstairs to look out the front door to see a steady downfall of rain…sigh.  I was still sore from Monday’s workout (Sparticus V2, but I upped my weight from 12 lb dumbbells to 15), and today is the work pitch-in, so I decided to tough it out ….

I did my typical sprint drill (4 sets of 5-10second sprints – all out).  There’s nothing like the rain stinging you in the face at 5:30 in the morning! 🙂  Oh well, I’m tougher for it…then I continued (after towel drying) with a little strength routine (2 rounds of 5 unassisted pull-ups, 20 push ups, and 12 pot-stirrers).  It’s going to be a good day…just wait for the post about my pitch-in appetizer (the idea came from Mean Jeanne though…I can’t take all the credit)!

The Recipe:

Adam and I originally got the idea for this recipe from the Primal Blueprint cookbook, which you can purchase through www.MarksDailyApple.com.  However, we modified the recipe enough that it reminded me of a pizza…

1/2 bunch green Swiss Chard

1/4 pound (??) of leftover Ham from Easter

1/4 cup of finely chopped onion

6 pastured eggs

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp each of fresh, chopped parsley and oregano

3 tbsp parmesan cheese

Chop your onions, swiss chard, and spices finely.  Sautee your onion and swiss chard in a skillet with olive oil until the chard starts to wilt and your onion softens and starts to become translucent.  Then add your leftover ham (or already cooked ham) and herbs to the sautee pan and cook a minute or two longer.  Beat the eggs and add them to the skillet.  Stir until everything is mixed, then over medium heat cover the skillet and let the eggs set.  Top with the parmesan cheese.  You’re done! 🙂  Honestly, this reminded me of a spinach and ham pizza…which made me REALLY want a Hawaiian pizza…so, I think this weekend we’re going to make a cauliflower crust (I’ll provide the link to the recipe this weekend) and have that Hawaiian pizza! 🙂

