Tags

, , ,

If you know me at all, you know I LOVE holidays!!  Whether they are official holidays or the super small ones, I love em!  Any excuse to celebrate.  For instance, I have a headband for St. Patrick’s day with shamrocks that stick straight up and wiggle around…I know, I behave like a 5-year-old…but what’s wrong with that??

So!  Needless to say, Adam and I definitely are celebrating Cinco de Mayo.  Since my birthday is the 7th, I remember having birthday parties with pinatas and other Mexican themed parties…so the tradition continues at the Katulak household.  We are making Chile Verde for dinner tonight (crock potting it so we can eat before 9pm) and having our twisted version of a Nor Cal Margarita.  If Adam’s lucky, I’ll even pick up some Negro Modello or Dos Equis Amber…YUM!

Here is the Chile Verde recipe:

  • 4 pounds pork butt or shoulder from Pete
  • A couple hefty shakes of sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tbsp pasture butter
  • 3 yellow onions
  • 2 green bell peppers, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 2 Poblano chiles, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 2-3 jalapenos, seeds removed, and finely chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 pounds tomatillos, roasted, peeled and chopped
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 tablespoons coriander seeds, crushed/ground (we used our spice/coffee grinder which coarsly chopped them)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 bunch cilantro leaves, cleaned and chopped
  • 4 cups chicken stock

Pat the pork dry with paper towel (you don’t want it to be wet, or it will just steam).  Rub the pork meat generously with salt and pepper. Heat butter in a skillet over medium high heat and brown pork butt on all sides. Lift pork out of pan and place in a crock pot (with one cup of the chicken stock already in the crock pot). Place the onions, peppers, chilies, tomatillos, spices, and herbs in the crock pot along with the 3 remaining cups of chicken stock and put on low for 6-8 hours.  Once the crock pot goes off (and we’re still at work) it will go to the “keep warm” phase.

There is a picture of the raw deal.  I’ll have final pictures for everyone tonight…but I can tell you this, as we’re browning the pork butt this morning, it smells DELICIOUS!!!  The veggies also look amazing.  It kind of looks like we’re going to feed a small army!!!  Looks like we’re having Mexican omelets in the morning…YUM!!!

Bree’s Twisted Nor Cal Margarita – for a lower guilt way to enjoy a Marg:

2 shots white tequila (the gold can be used, but the white tastes better, I think)

Juice of one lime (or 4 squirts of Real Lime juice)

1/2 shot of Triple Sec

1-1 1/2 shots of Club Soda

Combine all ingredients for a “healthier” margarita.  At least one that won’t kill you in sugar!! 🙂  I know the Triple Sec isn’t the best, but it DEFINITELY adds to the flavor, and I figure a half a shot won’t kill anyone…hopefully! 🙂

Happy Cinco de Mayo everyone!! 🙂

