Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Another year older…and like my husband said this morning, I’m like fine wine, I get better with age. 🙂  Maybe he was sucking up to me so I would be nice…but maybe he meant it.  Which made me think…I’m now 26, and to be quite honest, I’m in the best shape of my life!  Yes, in high school I was about 10 pounds lighter, but I had absolutely NO muscle tone or strength.  It was kind of embarrassing.  In those “Presidential Fitness” tests you have to complete each year in grade school I could only do 1/2 pull-up, not even ONE on my own!  Awful.  Now I can knock out 5-6 without hesitation.  That is something to be said.

But let’s get on to the birthday dinner that Adam and I enjoyed last night!  We had purchased a whole, reserve beef tenderloin from a local butcher shop, cut into filets and grind, for our Valentine’s Day dinner.  Since this was the next big occasion, we decided to have filets, steamed broccoli, twice baked cauliflower mash, and homemade raspberry chocolate chip ice cream for dessert.  Throw in 2 bottles of wine with that for a splurge (hey, it’s my birthday weekend!) and I say we have a pretty freaking awesome meal! 🙂  Here are the recipes:

Filets

Ours were about 1 inch thick, so keep that in mind.  We took them out of the fridge about 1 hour before we fired up the grill to bring them to room temperature (they cook more evenly that way) and seasoned them generously with salt and pepper.

On the grill, cook them 3 minutes per side and then on a really low heat (and the higher rack) 7 minutes per side putting 1/4 tbsp of butter on each filet with 1 minute left to go, then straight to the plate!  This gave us medium filets.

Steamed Broccoli – I think this goes without saying, but you never know! 🙂  Cut your broccoli to desired size florets.  Bring about 1/2 – 1 cup of water to a boil, throw in the broccoli and cover until slightly softened and the deep green color comes out.  We did not season, but normally we will…

Twice Baked Cauliflower Mash

Here is the link to the mash recipe we use, and then I will go on to say how we twice baked it!

http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/creamy_mashed_cauliflower.html

Once the mash was complete, I placed in a lasagna pan and topped with freshly cut chives and shredded cheese.  Broil the mash for approximately 7 minutes.  Delish! 🙂

Raspberry Chocolate Chip Coconut Ice Cream (You will need an ice cream maker)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans coconut milk (important NOT to use from the carton as it’s diluted and not as thick and creamy)
  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries
  • 1/2 bar Dark Chocolate (we used Ghirardelli 80% cocoa), chopped
  • 1 packet of Stevia in the Raw

Directions:

In a small sauce pan, sautee the frozen raspberries (and break them up with the spatula).  You shouldn’t need water as when they thaw the water will seep out to make a “sauce.”  After about 2 minutes, add 1 can of the coconut milk (shake before opening).  Simmer the mixture until the raspberries and milk are combined.  Fire up the ice cream maker (that sounds funny…) and pour in the other can of coconut milk.  Once that is going for 1 minute, add the raspberry and coconut milk mixture.  Let the ice cream maker run until it looks like soft serve ice cream (I would say about 15 minutes, but we weren’t timing it).  Then, add the chopped chocolate pieces.  We wait to add the chocolate because you don’t want them to sink to the bottom.  Add your packet of stevia and let the ice cream maker go for another 5 minutes.  Then serve and enjoy!  I would say this serves 4 people, but (a little embarrassed by this) we downed it all just the two of us! 🙂

One more recipe!  Adam definitely spoils me (as he reminded me ever so nicely for the past week since I’m getting presents…)!  He made me the carrot cake recipe that we made the cookies from last weekend.  It looks SO amazing, it was hard to not eat it last night…http://www.primal-palate.com/2011/04/carrot-cake.html  There is the recipe.  The only thing we did differently was put the chopped walnuts on top because we didn’t know how we were really going to get them on the side of the cake and still make it look good!  Let the birthday celebrations begin! 🙂  Get excited for all of the recipes for our Mother’s Day Brunch…I’m pretty pumped!

