Tags

, , , ,

Well, I hate to say it, but Adam and I have definitely gotten into a bit of a slump since we’ve been on vacation.  It probably doesn’t help that he’s been traveling for work, but no excuses.  There is no reason why we can’t eat primally all the time.  It was a bummer that we did get into a bit of a rut, but it’s time to break out of it!  It was as if Mark, from Mark’s Daily Apple, was writing just for us last week when he wrote an article about being in a slump! 🙂  That made us reconsider what we’ve been doing wrong, what we’ve been doing right, and how we can fix those things that were wrong.

What did we come up with?  A 30-Day Primal Challenge! 🙂  If anyone truly knows me, they know that I am SUPER competitive!  So, this is just what I need to get back into the swing of things.  One thing I realized that we had stopped doing since we got back from vacation was making a weekly menu.  I like structure, so for me to not have something to look forward to and to have to make meal decisions when I’m hungry just doesn’t work out too well!  So, we made a menu for the week and went grocery shopping to get the goodies.  So far, although we’re only on Day 3 of 30, I feel SO much better.

Here were our stipulations for our challenge:

1. No Grains (not too hard)

2. No seed oils (soy, canola, corn, safflower, etc.) – this can get challenging, especially if you eat out a lot.

3. No added sugar (high fructose corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, cane sugar, etc.)

4. Dairy should be limited to pasture butter, good cheese (sorry Kraft), and possibly Greek yogurt (this is a hard one for me!)

5. 2 workouts per week, plus one sprint session

6. Walk at least 6 miles a week

7. No alcohol during the week

In just two full days of being 100% primal, I lost 4 pounds that I gained on vacation!!  Plus, I feel SO much better … I’ll continue to give updates regarding our 30-day challenge progress, but at least it’s good to know that on Day 3 we’re still motivated and feeling good about it!  Only a lifetime more to go!  Honestly, I’m hoping that this 30 days will get me to stop craving the bad things and just want the good things!  I’m not going to let myself get back into my rut after these 30 days!

Here is a picture of what we had for dinner last night (and for lunch today):  sirloin kebobs with mushrooms, onions, and red pepper…DELICIOUS! 🙂

