Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I am EXTREMELY proud to announce that Adam and I made a 100% Katulak original tonight, and holy crap did it turn out well!  Plus, I started out the work week well by kicking my butt into gear with the Spartacus v2 workout from Men’s Health.  Now, I’ve done this workout plenty of times before.  However, I haven’t done it in at least 2 1/2 months, and boy did it kick my butt.  We just got back from taking Riley on a walk, and I could BARELY walk 1 mile around the neighborhood because of all of the jump squats. 😦  Oh well, it’s a good thing, just hope I can walk tomorrow!!  Here is the link to the workout incase you don’t want to search through my other posts (which are definitely worth the time searching, by the way):  http://my.menshealth.com/workout/The-Spartacus-Workout-2.0/workout-a.

Now, for the dinner:  Eggplant Parmesan with sautéed green beans!

Eggplant Parmesan

1 medium eggplant

1/2 cup almond flour

3/8 cup parmesan – separated into 1/8 and 1/4 cups

1/4 tsp Italian seasoning

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 egg

1 can Napa Valley San Marzano tomato sauce (the only sugar-free kind I can find, and it’s delicious!)

2 large baby bella mushrooms, sliced

1/2 pound Italian sausage, browned

2 slices Swiss cheese

6 tbsp of pasture butter

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Whisk the egg in a small, flat-bottomed bowl.  In a medium, flat-bottomed bowl combine the almond flour, 1/8 cup of the parmesan cheese, Italian seasoning, salt, and pepper.  Peel the eggplant and slice it into 1/4 inch slices.  Take each slice of eggplant and dip in the egg wash and then cover in the flour mixture and set aside on a clean plate.  In a large skillet heat the butter until it begins to slightly sizzle, but don’t let it brown.  When the pan is ready, and the eggplant has been “breaded”, place the eggplants in the pan for approximately 3-4 minutes per side.    In a 13×9 inch pan, place a thin layer of sauce.  As the eggplant pieces finish pan frying (remember only cook halfway as they will be baked, just to get a slight crunch) place them in the baking pan lined with sauce.  Once the eggplants are finished, mix the rest of the sauce in a large bowl with the sliced mushrooms and sausage.  Top the eggplant pieces with the sauce mixture.  Top the eggplant with small, torn squares of Swiss cheese and then the remaining parmesan cheese.  Place in the oven for approximately 20 minutes, or until the cheese is golden and bubbly.

Green Beans

In the pan that was used to cook the eggplant, with the remaining butter, and while the eggplant is in the oven, saute the green beans with salt, pepper, and 1 clove of garlic, minced.

I didn’t take pictures of these items because I simply don’t have amazing plating skills.  However, they tasted phenomenal and Adam and I are quite excited that we have a snack for tomorrow (we only had three slices left!!). 🙂

I will say that since we’ve started becoming OBSESSED with both Hell’s Kitchen and Master Chef, I have become obsessed with trying to find ways to create 100% original recipes.  Additionally, we have come up with some great new ideas for recipes.  You all have a lot of great recipes to look forward to in the near future! 🙂  Enjoy…

